Individual Holiday Accommodation
Ferry Tickets, Car Hire, Travel Service

www.zorbas.de
Travel Agency
Stephan Bartholomä

Search by keywords:
In Association with Amazon.co.uk

Books Summer Reading

available through amazon.co.uk
Not a UK resident? Use amazon.com

The Summer of My Greek Taverna
Greek Taverna
The humorous and sometimes bittersweet story of a man in love with a place, a woman and a dream - part memoir, part travelogue with recipes - for fans of Frances Mayes and Peter Mayle. The place was Patmos, the tiny Greek island where St.John received the apocalyptic vision recorded in the Book of Revelations and Tom Stone wrote his first novel. The woman was a French painter, his wife, Danielle. The dream was to return there for one last summer with Danielle and their two young children. A telephone call from a Patmian friend, Theologos, offered Stone the opportunity to go into partnership in his restaurant, a beach taverna named The Beautiful Helen. He jumped at the chance, much to the dismay of his wife, who wisely believed in the old adage about not trusting Greeks bearing gifts. No longer a tourist, Stone quickly learned hard lessons about Greek skills at bargaining and their use of the Evil Eye. Not only did he struggle to run a restaurant that closed at three a.m. and opened for fishermen at seven, he was also forced to come to the painful realisation that Theologos was cheating him out of thousands of dollars. Yet there were many joys: the beauty of the island, the friendships with both the natives and foreigners he had come to know over the years, the yachts that arrived from Mykonos for dinner and the support of his family.
  • Paperback 272 pages (June 16, 2003)
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster International
  • ISBN: 074324771X
North of Ithaka
North of Ithaka
Eleni Gage, a young journalist living in New York, leaves her Manhattan flat to return to the remote but beautiful Greek village of Lia in northern Greece and rebuild her ruined ancestral home. But this is not just another tale of quaint rustic DIY - the house was the scene of imprisonment and torture, and its ruins are stalked by the ghosts of the Greek Civil War. The story is played out in the stunning mountainous landscape of Epiros, one of the least-visited regions of Europe. As Eleni becomes part of the village, her neighbours and the house come vividly to life while her own disasters, triumphs and self-discoveries are alternately poignant and hilarious. The cast of characters includes Eleni's formidable yet miniscule aunts - the thitsas, who fear that she will be eaten by wolves; her immigrant Albanian builders; and the residents of modern-day Lia, whose feelings about the rebuilding of a house where such terrible events took place are ambivalent at best. Informed by her knowledge of Greece's folkiore, literature, language and history, Eleni's story is unfallingly witty and wise. But beneath it all lie the indelible stains of a real-life Greek tragedy.
  • Paperback 289 pages (July 4, 2005)
  • Publisher: Bantam
  • ISBN: 0553815962
A House in Corfu
House in Corfu
Cleo Pappas:
'Here she lends her stunning prose to a unique memoir of the home her parents built on Corfu... on a journey through time'
Publishers Weekly:
'...a delightful memoir...'
  • Paperback 240 pages (June 6, 2002)
  • Publisher: Vintage
  • ISBN: 0099422530
It's All Greek to Me!: A Tale of a Mad Dog and an Englishman, Ruins, Retsina - And Real Greeks
Greek to Me
Kathimerini, Greece’s international English language newspaper:
It is the humour of the author John Mole that lifts It's All Greek to Me! above the rest. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.
Book of the Week, Daily Express:
It’s All Greek to Me! is a fabulous insight into Hellenic village life. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.
  • Paperback 354 pages (May 4, 2006)
  • Publisher: Nicholas Brealey Publishing Ltd
  • ISBN: 1857883756

Comment feature currently disabled...

deutsch

Accessible:

Travel Agency Zorbas - Stephan Bartholomä
24024 Stoupa, Peloponnese - Greece
Phone: +30 69781 44435, +30 27210 77879, Email: info@zorbas.de